What Is SCEC?

The Security Construction and Equipment Committee (SCEC) is a standing inter-departmental committee responsible for the evaluation of security equipment for use by Australian Government departments and agencies. SCEC is also responsible for the SCEC Security Zone Consultant scheme, SCEC Approved Locksmith scheme, and SCEC endorsed Courier scheme.

The equipment evaluation program and consultant, locksmith and courier schemes are managed by ASIO’s T4 Protective Security.

SCEC Approved Locksmiths

SCEC Approved Locksmiths maintain mechanical and digital combination locks fitted to SCEC approved containers (listed in the SEEPL). SCEC also recommends approved locksmiths are used to install locks and associated hardware in PSPF Security Zones 4 and 5.

Approval of applicants to the scheme is dependent on the person meeting the criteria and being assessed as a fit and proper person. SCEC Approved Locksmiths are required to renew their approval every four years.

Please note that under the current policy, SCEC Approved Locksmiths are not security cleared by SCEC . Agencies must confirm that they are appropriately cleared to work in/on the designated area and hardware/container(s) or appropriately escorted in line with the requirements of the PSPF.

Security Equipment Evaluated Products List

ASIO’s T4 Protective Security directorate, on behalf of SCEC, evaluates protective security products to determine their suitability for use in Australian Government facilities. Approved products are listed in the Security Equipment Evaluated Products List (SEEPL).

Given the purpose of this evaluation program, SCEC does not support the requirement for SCEC approved products in tender documentation where there is no identified need for such equipment.

Products are evaluated to ensure they meet the government requirements, and that the specific applications and any limitations of the products are clearly identified. The majority of products evaluated are for use in PSPF Zones 3 to 5. SCEC also evaluates a number of administrative and specialised security products.

The SEEPL replaces the Security Equipment Catalogue (SEC2011) which was ceased on 1 March 2015. From this date, products that were listed in the SEC2011 are no longer approved unless they appear in the most current version of the SEEPL. While any new or replacement products must come from the SEEPL, products already in place, specified  or ordered prior to 1 March 2015 do not require immediate replacement.


How Do You Become SCEC Certified

The SCEC Approved Locksmith maintains mechanical and digital combination locks fitted to SCEC Approved containers. SCEC also recommends Approved Locksmiths are used to fit locks and associated hardware to doors and windows of certain Australian Government security zones.

Subjects covered include:

  • containers inspection, servicing and reporting procedures;
  • physical security locking requirements of the Protective Security Policy Framework and ASIO Technical Notes;
  • an assessment to demonstrate competency.

SCEC courses will consist of certification workshops from Kaba Australia Pty Ltd on the X10, and Locksmith Supply Company on the S&G 2740a and 2740b.. Certification on these locks will become a mandatory condition of maintaining SCEC approval.

When a locksmith meets all of the requirements for SCEC approval they are granted approval for four years and their details are entered on a SCEC Approved Locksmith Register, which is maintained by T4 Protective Security.